Friday, August 17, 2018

Album Review: Derek & Jana Simonis', "Blessed"!

Hey, y'all!

Today I want to share an album review on Derek and Jana Simonis' newly released project, "Blessed".  Derek and Jana recently ventured into a new season of ministry, and I'm thrilled to be able to watch and see how it all unfolds.  Now I don't want to give everything away before you hear it yourself, but I will give you the track list and just a hint about each song.


The very first song on this album is one of those hallowed hymns written by Fanny Crosby,"Blessed Assurance".  Jana takes the lead on this one, and does a fantastic job.  It's very peaceful and soothing, perfect for when you need some of that "blessed assurance".

The second song featured is "I'm Blessed", written by Ricky Atkinson and Compassion.  Many have probably heard some version of this song, and it is always such a reminder of just how blessed we are.  So many are going through hard times, but it truly does get sweeter each and every day.  This song is also special because it features Derek and Jana's oldest son, Daniel. 

The third song is called "The Answer for My Why", and is written by Derek Simonis and Doran Ritchey.  This song talks about how we as we go through life there will be times we will have questions (why, how, when...).  If we respond appropriately, those difficult times often draw us closer to the Lord.  We may not understand at the time, but as the song says, one day we will indeed see His plan. 

The fourth song on the CD is "Farther Along", by W.B. Stephens.  Another classic that everyone is sure to know, and the Simonis version is well worth listening to.  We will understand it all by and by!

"I Love You More" is the name of the fifth song, and it's written by Rebecca Isaacs Bowman, Sonya Isaacs Yeary, and Kenna West.  These lyrics talk about the truth that certain situations in life can make your love for the Lord grow.  He is always faithful, no matter what the situation may be.

No. Six on the album is "Royal Descendant" by Kyle F. Rowland.  Yes, we are all unworthy sinners, but it doesn't stop there... after salvation, we're royal descendants!  Just think of that.. you and I can claim relation to the King!  

Seventh on the song-list is simply, "Jesus".  The love of Jesus truly is worth more than any other thing you could think of, and this song reiterates just that. It is so neat thinking of the combination of songwriters for this track.. Fanny Crosby and our very own Jim & Melissa Brady.  

"The Prodigal Son" is next up, written by Lavon Cantrell.  Just like in the account of the prodigal son, He is waiting for us to return regardless of what we've done.  

"Lord of My Heart" is the ninth song on the album, written by Rebecca Isaacs Bowman, Sonya Isaacs Yeary, and Joel Lindsey.  Just think of how much He has done for us.. He is so worthy of our love and adoration, is He truly the Lord of our heart?  

The tenth song is, "Jesus Paid it All" by Elvina Hall and John Grape.  Another that everyone is sure to know, and will enjoy singing along with.  "Jesus paid it all, all to him I owe".. we truly do owe every little thing to Him.

The finale song of the album is "A Reunion at the Throne" written by Derek.  Many of us have family or dear friends that have passed on, and it can be difficult without them.  But just think of that glorious reunion we'll have at the throne!  

I think a lot of times family groups get overlooked by the diehard "quartet fans", but there is just something special about family harmony and this album is no exception!  The Simonis family does an excellent job on these songs, and I definitely look forward to hearing more from them in the future.  You can visit their Facebook Page to stay up to date on their latest news, and be sure to head on over to their website to purchase a copy of "Blessed" for yourself!  

~Modesty + Mercy

No comments:

Post a Comment